Impact of women in my life

Shantanu Singh
5 min readJan 14, 2021

--

Superwoman

Man. It’s been a long time. Haven’t written anything for a while. I guess, got too busy with other things and totally forgot about this topic IMPACT OF WOMEN…………. I remembered that I was gonna write on this. So here it is.

Woman. When you say the word out loud “WOMAN”, many important people come to your mind. Your mother, sister, maybe teacher, wife or partner and most important is of a friend. All these roles women play in our lives. Believe it or not, our way of life is defined by these very women.

I know I know! There is your father, brother……., and many other people in your life. But for me, this wasn’t the case. My father died when I was 11, grandfather, even before that. Although I have many cousins and relatives, my only family left was my sister, my mom, and most important of all, my grandma. These 3 women are the foundation of the life I am able to live today and they still keep nurturing me to date.

Let’s talk about them, shall we?

My Mom

A very sweet and emotional person. Always encouraging me along the way, she placed all her trust in me and I knew I can’t afford to disappoint her.

I don’t like to bring this up but my father was one of those men who, sometimes, let alcohol get the best of him. I won’t get much into details but my mom obviously never liked it. She never placed any restrictions on me and always fulfilled my every wish. In return, she only asked me a few things.

1. to never touch alcohol and avoid all those things that mess with the mind like drugs n all.

2. to always respect people, especially women.

Well, if it was a mystery why I never got into alcohol n stuff, it is solved now. Although I can’t say with enough confidence, that I did well on rule no.2. I guess I have disrespected many people along the way. Some of it was justified some was not. But it happened.

Anyway, talking about my mother. An ideal mom who every child dreams of. Well, jinx, I got one. She’s like the best friend I never had. I can tell her everything about what’s going on in my life and she’ll be there listening just like an old friend. Then we’ll both laugh it out.

She seems a very jolly person. She is actually. As a matter of fact, I’ve barely seen her crying after my dad’s death. 2, maybe 3 times. And two of those were when I was crying about something and she couldn’t hold back seeing me upset and the 3rd was when I was undergoing knee surgery. See? She doesn’t even spare a teardrop for herself.

When I think of her, I just want to remember her smiling face and keep it that way. And I make sure to not let that smile slip off her face because of me or anyone else.

My Elder Sister

You know the bond between siblings, right? Always fighting. Well, surprise surprise, we are also no different. In fact, I’d say we fight even more than siblings fight in general.

Well, no relationship’s perfect. Anyway, she is an idiot. Being the elder sibling I guess all the experiments were performed on her. Then according to the results decisions were made in my life. Damn, that’s cruel lol.

Jokes apart, I don’t know if I’d be still here without her. There were many stages in my life in which I was completely broken down. Those dire times were one in which I needed someone who could understand me. Of course, there was my mom, but sometimes the generation gap in conversations with her was too subtle.

Gladly, I had my sister. Only a few years older than me, she could see the world with my eyes. I still remember this one time when I moved to a boarding school in 11th grade, I was almost gonna quit and come back. I was so determined not to live in the hostel that no force on earth could have stopped me. Well, there was one though and she was my sister. She didn’t pressurize or scold me. Didn’t taunt me. She knew what I was going through and instead of all this, she encouraged me. She gave me some sort of strength even I didn’t know I had.

Let me tell you, those 2 years of the hostel was the best time of my life.

No matter how much she’s angry with me, or how much we fight, if she sees me crying and vulnerable she comes running without a second thought. I know I am not the best brother but that doesn’t stop her from being the best sister.

My Grandma — the very definition of powerful women

I’ll say again and again, “No woman in this world is stronger than my grandmother”. She was always a family woman. An ideal housewife who looked after everything and everyone. Ranging from her grandkids, us, to her husband and son and daughter in law. Well in simple words the whole family :). Basically, she was like the backbone of the house. She lost her husband, my grandfather. Then in a couple of years, her son, my father.

I don’t know how to describe her. Even after going through so many losses, she did not waver. Instead, she took up the roles of my father and grandpa along the way. Watched over the family business and managed all the finances. She never let us feel deprived of anything.

At the age when people ideally sit outside under the warm sun and relax, she was running here and there making sure me, my mom, and my sister never feel the absence of my father. And let me tell you, we did not.

She would go to the court, the government offices, meet government officials for work-related issues. Be it the collector, the commissioner, or any high ranking official. My grandma talked to them with more confidence than I can ever have. A simple housewife turned entrepreneur, all for our sakes.

I still wonder how does she manage to conjure so much energy being at this age but she happily does it and keeps doing it with a smile on her face.

To be honest, there’s still much more I wanted to share about these 3 amazing women in my life but then there’ll be no end to this article :P So, that’s about it. I know you also have amazing women in your life who define your existence. Love them, respect them, and most important of all don’t disappoint them.

--

--

Shantanu Singh

Software Engineer / Blogger. Trying to learn and share with everyone. Twitter - @Shan65924328 insta - letgoshots Fb - letgoshots